Faculty Recognition Archive

2018 – 19 Award-Winning Faculty

Laura Castañeda

Professor of Professional Practice

Journalism Fellow, Gerontological Society of America

Hernan Galperin

Hernan Galperin

Research Associate Professor

Invited to join the World Economic Forum’s Global Future Council on Information and Entertainment for the 2018 – 2019 term

Robert Hernandez

Associate Professor of Professional Practice

Appointed to the Board of Directors as Academic At-Large Officer, National Association of Hispanic Journalists

Eunjin “Anna” Kim

Assistant Professor of Journalism

Awarded the Mary Alice Shaver Promising Professor Award at the 2019 American Academy of Advertising conference

Photo of Mike Ananny

Mike Ananny

Associate Professor

Named 2018-19 Berggruen Fellow at Stanford University’s Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences; Joined the editorial advisory board for Oxford University’s series, “Journalism and Political Communication Unbound.”

2017 – 18 Award-Winning Faculty

Amara Aguilar

Amara Aguilar

Associate Professor of Professional Practice

Tow-Knight Disruptive Education Fellow
EducationShift20, EducationShift

Photo of Mike Ananny

Mike Ananny

Assistant Professor of Communication and Journalism

Fellow, Columbia University Tow Center for Digital Journalism

Francois Bar

François Bar

Professor of Communication

Best Design Study Award, CHI 2018

Laura Castañeda

Professor of Professional Practice

Top 10 Journalism Educator, Crain’s NewsPro

Manuel Castells

University Professor and the Wallis Annenberg Chair in Communication Technology and Society

Doctorate of Letters (Honoris Causa), University of Cambridge 

Peter Clarke

Peter Clarke

Professor of Communication

Applied Research Award, International Communication Association

Jeff C. Fellenzer

Associate Professor of Professional Practice and Faculty Advisor, USC Sports Business Association

Advisor of the Year, Office of Undergraduate Advising and Student Affairs, USC Marshall School of Business

Henry Jenkins

Provost Professor of Communication, Journalism, Cinematic Arts and Education

Honorary Doctorate, Faculty of Social Science, Upsalla University

Lynn Carol Miller

Lynn Miller


Fellow, Society for Personality and Social Psychology (SPSP)

Sheila Murphy

Professor of Communication

Fellow, International Communication Association

Philip Seib

Professor of Journalism and Public Diplomacy

International Communication Book Award, International Studies Association

Stacy Smith

Associate Professor; Founder and Director, Annenberg Inclusion Initiative

Honored as a leader of the gender parity movement, Women in Film gala segment “45 Years of Advocacy Celebration”; Trailblazer Award from Women and Hollywood

Roberto Suro

Professor of Journalism

Mentoring Award for Faculty Mentoring Undergraduate Students, University of Southern California

Dmitri Williams

Associate Professor of Communication

Gaming Analytics Top 30 Most Influential Figures, Innovation Enterprise