Student journalists recognized at annual industry awards ceremonies

Nearly a dozen students received awards from major industry organizations over the weekend, highlighting some of the best of print and visual journalism produced at USC Annenberg.

College Television Awards

"Impact," USC Annenberg's television newsmagazine, won a College Television Award—the equivalent of an Emmy—from the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. The winning episode (available here) featured stories on leisure sports that have turned competitive, shot and edited by undergraduate journalism majors. The competitive ping-pong segment was produced Nimisha Thakore (B.A. Broadcast and Digital Journalism '11), Megan Dickey (B.A. Broadcast and Digital Journalism '11) and Mark Shore (B.A. Broadcast Journalism '11). The skateboarding segment was produced by Marie Agnello (B.A. Broadcast and Digital '11) and Alex Wilk (B.A. Broadcast Journalism '11). The "Impact" team producers who accepted the award include Sharis Delgadillo (M.A. Broadcast Journalism), Michael Green (M.A. Broadcast Journalism '11) and Samuel Osborn (M.A. Broadcast Journalism '11). Current students Christine Detz and Lisa Rau, master's candidates for broadcast journalism, also accepted the award. "'Impact' is a huge team effort, requiring an extraordinary amount of talent, hard work, and collaborative energy," Osborn said. "Being honored … is a tremendous validation of the skills and efforts that Impact's students and faculty put out." This is "Impact's" seventh win in 10 years.

Society of Professional Journalists

The Society of Professional Journalists awarded four regional Mark of Excellence awards to USC Annenberg students. SPJ is one of the oldest journalism organizations in the country, devoted to the protection of ethics, diversity and the First Amendment. Mark of Excellence awards honor the best of college print, radio, television and online journalism.

Annenberg Radio News won first place in all-around radio newscast for three broadcasts (here, here and here). The production team included Emily Frost, a master's candidate for broadcast journalism; Sarah Golden, a master's candidate for broadcast journalism; Ariel Edwards-Levy, a senior majoring in print and digital journalism; and Aaron Schrank, a master's candidate in broadcast journalism. "Putting together the newscast is a team effort," Frost said. "It's an intense experience rushing to our 4 p.m. deadline, but it's a rewarding one. We're so gratified that SPJ recognized our team!" Kyle Tabuena-Frolli, a junior majoring in print journalism, won first place in radio news reporting for a series of stories (listen here: 1 2 3 4) he produced for Annenberg Radio News. The stories, from the fall, feature the Occupy LA movement at Los Angeles CIty Hall.

Laura J. Nelson, a senior majoring in print and digital journalism, won first place in breaking news reporting for a story written during a summer internship with the Boston Globe. The story—"At epic wreck, another victim" (available here)—tells the story of a diver who died while exploring a shipwreck off the coast of Cape Cod.

Annenberg TV News won second place in television breaking news reporting for its coverage of Conrad Murray's guilty verdict last fall. The reporting team included Ivana Dukanovic, a senior majoring in broadcast journalism and psychology; Elyse Perlmutter-Gumbiner, a senior majoring in broadcast journalism; and Alexis Zotos (B.A. Print and Digital Journalism '11). SPJ splits its national membership into 12 regional chapters. USC's three first-place winners — Tabuena-Frolli, Nelson and the ARN staff – will advance to the national SPJ competition.